2LP € 99.95 Buy
Violin Concertos (vinyl)
Linus Roth | London Symphony Orchestra | Thomas Sanderling
2LP | CC 72840 | 0608917284027
artist: Linus Roth
composers: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Dmitri Shostakovich
conductor: Thomas Sanderling
orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra

LP 1
1. Violin Concerto No. 2, Op. 129: Moderato
Dmitri Shostakovich (composer), Linus Roth (performer), Thomas Sanderling (conductor), London Symphony Orchestra (orchestra)
2. Violin Concerto No. 2, Op. 129: Adagio
Dmitri Shostakovich (composer), Linus Roth (performer), Thomas Sanderling (conductor), London Symphony Orchestra (orchestra)
3. Violin Concerto No. 2, Op. 129: Adagio - Allegro
Dmitri Shostakovich (composer), Linus Roth (performer), Thomas Sanderling (conductor), London Symphony Orchestra (orchestra)
LP 2
1. Violin Concerto, Op. 35: Allegro moderato
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (composer), Linus Roth (performer), Thomas Sanderling (conductor), London Symphony Orchestra (orchestra)
2. Violin Concerto, Op. 35: Canzonetta - Andante
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (composer), Linus Roth (performer), Thomas Sanderling (conductor), London Symphony Orchestra (orchestra)
3. Violin Concerto, Op. 35: Finale - Allegro vivacissimo
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (composer), Linus Roth (performer), Thomas Sanderling (conductor), London Symphony Orchestra (orchestra)

“This remastered reissue is a special album in every respect. The most important thing is for the music to reach the listener as directly as possible. Every nuance and every emotion. It’s about more than just listening to music. It’s about the whole experience of the music.”

- Amplifier Bryston 14BSST2 PRO dual channel 2 LP
- 180 gram double vinyl
- Limited edition, individually numbered
- Luxury booklet
- Free download after purchase

Eric Stom - sound engineer Challenge Vinyl


  • Linus Roth: athlete on the violin. Sound and interpretation: 9 out of 10!  
    Crescendo, Jean-Baptiste Baronian
  • Roth is an impressive interpreter of Weinberg’s music, but of the three solo works, I’d prefer Kilnits in No.1 and, clearly, Kremer in No.3 – although Roth’s tight focus is a collector’s wish and the SACD sound impressive.
    Music Web International, Jonathan Woolf
more reviews
  • The personal nature of Linus Roth’s approach to the music of Mieczyslaw Weinberg is evident as well, in a new Challenge Classics release featuring Weinberg’s three solo-violin sonatas interspersed with violin-and-piano versions of the Three Fantastic Dances by Weinberg’s friend, colleague and longtime supporter, Shostakovich.
  • "That the mildness never becomes a weakness, is to be thankend to the violist by whom the toneforming and rythmic precision are always well balanced."
    Luister, Emanuel Overbeeke
  • "On paper, this is far from easy music to assimilate, yet here it sounds radiantly compelling. An outstanding achievement."
    The Strad, Julian Haylock
  • Whimsy, wistful melancholy and dry wit coexist. And, it’s beautifully held together by Roth, playing the work as if he’s delivering a series of soliloquies.
    The Arts Desk, Graham Rickson
  • ‘’Roth makes his violin sob and snarl'' (*****)
    De Volkskrant, Frits van der Waa
  • For both violinists and listeners, even those with special appreciation for Twentieth-Century music, Mieczys┼éaw Weinberg’s Sonatas for solo violin are not easy going. This is music in which unspeakable atrocities are confronted unflinchingly, music in which one man sought answers to questions that ravage all of mankind. Perhaps these are questions with which each man must contend on his own, but few men can contend with Weinberg’s music as authoritatively as Linus Roth does in his performances of the three Sonatas for solo violin. This is not solely music making: what Roth achieves on this disc is the recreation of a solitary voice, now made intelligible to every pair of ears willing to listen.    
  • Roth did great by making this beautiful pieces of Weinberg unlock for the western world, he did this with a great powerfull play that touches the listener.
    Nieuwe Noten, Ben Taffijn
  • In all three his sense of the architecture his finely sustained, especially in the last sonata.
    Planet Hugill, Robert Hugill
  • " [...] the poise and intensity of Roth’s performance; the Third Sonata, from 1978, unfolds in an unbroken, nearly half-hour stretch, and Roth’s achievement in maintaining its tension is considerable. [...] "
    The Guardian, Erica jael
  • Linus Roth, a proven advocate of Weinberg’s music, invites the listener in the fascinating sound world of the composer, where he carefully mingles emotion and intellect, so that the three sonatas become every bit as rewarding as solo sonatas from much better known composers. The recorded sound is silky-smooth as well as clearly defined.
    Pizzicato, Remy Franck